The Erasmus Mundus Scholarship, funded by the European Union, are exclusively awarded to students coming from both EU and non-EU countries that have been selected to attend one of the Erasmus Mundus Joint Programmes at Masters level.

Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree (EMJMD), is a prestigious, integrated, international study program, jointly delivered by an international consortium of higher education institutions.

Erasmus Mundus ScholarshipCourse level: Master’s

Fields of study: About 128 Master’s courses are supported by scholarships. The field(s) of study covered are Agriculture and Veterinary, Engineering, Manufacture and Construction, Health and Welfare, Humanities and Arts, Science, Mathematics and Computing, and Social Sciences, Business and Law. Follow this link for the EMJMD course catalogue.

Scholarship period: One to two-year master’s programs

Institution and country: European Universities/Institutions participating under approved Erasmus Mundus Action Joint Programmes. The list of participating countries can be found here.

Sponsor: European Union

Scholarship inclusions:

  • The participation costs, including tuition fees and mandatory insurance coverage. Most of the time, the EMJMD directly deducts the participation costs from the scholarship.
  • A contribution to travel costs:
    • 1000 €/year for a scholarship holder residing in a Programme country, or
    • 2000 €/year for a scholarship holder residing in a Partner country less than 4000 km from the EMJMD coordinating institution, or
    • 3000 €/year for a scholarship holder residing in a Partner country 4000 km or more from the EMJMD coordinating institution.
  • A contribution to settling-in costs: 1000 €, for scholarship holders residing in a Partner country only.
  • A monthly living allowance of 1000 €/month for all scholarship holders. However:
    • scholarship holders studying in their country of residence will not receive the subsistence allowance during that period;
    • a scholarship holder from a Partner country cannot receive the subsistence allowance for more than 3 months when studying in any Partner country.

Eligibility criteria for the Erasmus Mundus Scholarship:

EMJMDs are open to applicants from all over the world.

Further conditions apply: for example the possession of a first higher education degree, among others. You will find the full list of eligibility requirements on the website(s) of the EMJMD(s) you are interested in. Bear in mind that each EMJMD has specific requirements.

How to apply for the Erasmus Mundus Scholarship:

Students are selected by the individual EMJMDs, which have their own selection procedures. The application process, the deadlines, and the entrance criteria may vary from one course to another.

You will find further information about the specific selection procedure and the requirements of each EMJMD on their website.

Other useful links:

Erasmus Mundus Scholarship